R for Regret

I’m unloved and unwanted.
Permanent and haunted.
I’m there in the loss of a loved one,
In the bitterness of a wrong turn.
The consequence of a bad decision,
Or for going against your intuition.
I wallow in the darkest parts of your mind,
Feasting, scavenging, slowly turning you blind.
Everyone tries to avoid me.
Want to have a life without me.
But try as they might, they all fail.
And end up caught in this metaphorical jail.
Sometimes I wish I didn’t exist,
But then without the pain, how would you know bliss?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

