To, you.

To, ‘you’

It would be the unlikeliest of pairings.
Walk in the room and you can’t stop staring,
Takes you a minute to gather your bearings,
Eyes wide and hushed tones at my daring.

I reflected, there was some truth in ‘opposites attract’.
Almost to the point where it felt like a given fact.
But, I reasoned, it wasn’t as if it was a breach of contract.
For the fear of anyone knowing, I always avoided eye contact.

Because he was happy, I was not.
He was smart, I was not.
He faced challenges head on when I couldn’t.
He found positivity where I wouldn’t.

Because he was creative while I leant towards practicality.
His head was in a world of ideal, my feet planted firmly in reality.
He was so self-assured while I remained sensitive.
He was always enthusiastic when I chose to be negative.

But I was from a lower societal class,
I knew I had my place that I musn’t surpass.
The cards had been dealt,
And I knew it didn’t matter how I felt.

Even if we dared, my love and lust would be pushed to one side.
We would stare at each other from across the big divide,
Leaving us forever unsatisfied,
Our love dying for the sake of your pride.

But he draws like I write,
In the joyous hours of deep midnight.
It was extremely synonymous,
To the point where this remains anonymous.

With all my love and regret,
xxx

3 thoughts on “To, you.

Add yours

  1. A nice poem. Love has no boundaries of the society, race, class or colour. Status is never everlasting. It changes and what’s important is that “Status” cannot be a hindrance to love. It’s between people not between two same statuses.
    A poem which is exceptional….Well done.

    We have started living in a world where something is missing. What is the remedy? Find out more in my poem “A Golden Heart” to reveal the superficiality of our lives at
    https://akashsingh2017.wordpress.com/2017/06/06/a-golden-heart/
    Hope you will like it 🙂 Don’t forget to leave a comment as it’s very valuable 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

