The Rain

I sat dismally in the armchair.

The atmosphere was glum,

And I was tired.

It had been a long and harsh winter,

And it had had no mercy on our souls.

But then, I sniffed.

I could smell it.

The rain.

It was raining outside.

I couldn’t hear it,

Nor could I see it.

But I could smell it.

The smell of wet mud, freshly cut grass, and flowers.

The smell I associate with spring.

It was over!

The winter was over,

And spring was here at last.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

