Home Is Where The Heart Is

‘Home is where the heart is.’

This is such a famous proverb. Almost everyone knows it. You type it in Google and you get millions of hits. Websites, images, posts, tweets. There’s even a song by Lady Antebellum.

I don’t understand the proverb. I mean, I do, but I don’t. As in, something changed my perspective. You get what I’m saying? Probably not. Allow me to explain with the help of a story:

A couple of weeks ago, I was at a mall, with my friends. They were all super pumped about this new gadget that was on display. As much as I love electronics, I was really hungry so I went up to the food court. As I was standing in line at McDonald’s, I noticed a little boy, about 10 years old, standing in front of me. I looked around, searching for some parental form, but the kid appeared to be alone. When it was his turn to order, he stepped up to the counter and asked for 3 McChicken and 2 McVeggie meals (I’m not sure why I’m telling you what he ordered but it seems like an important part of the story).  I tapped the boy on the shoulder and asked him, “Why are you ordering 5 meals?” He looked up at me with big, innocent brown eyes and said, “My mother told me to buy some food for home. She didn’t say which home, so I’m buying a meal for all my homes.” I stared at the boy confused for a minute and asked, “But surely you don’t have 5 homes?” The little boy nodded. “My home is wherever my mom, my dad, my sister and my brother are. They’re all in different places right now. My dad is at work, my mom is at home, my sister is out with her friends and my brother is waiting outside the food court for me. They are all my home. So I’m getting meals for all of them.”

Before I could even think of what to say to this, the little boy turned back to the counter, picked up the huge packet the lady had given him, and walked away. Completely disregarding my hunger, I turned around and followed the boy. I watched as he walked up to a guy, whom I could only assume to be his brother, and handed him the huge parcel. The brother took it, shook his head a little, smiled and said, “Again?” The boy nodded and they walked away to the elevators.

I’ll never forget that moment. I finally understood where your heart truly belongs and how your home is where your heart is. I suppose, if you love someone, then you’ll stay with them through thick and thin. Their home will become your home. Wherever you go, if that particular person is there with you, then you’ll feel safe, and comfortable. And isn’t that the definition of a home? A place where you feel safe and comfortable? I don’t know. This is my interpretation. Everyone has their own. What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

